How 1 RU Student Saved 551 Metric Tons of Lake Michigan Water with One Simple Act

Image

Upon moving into the Wabash Building this summer I noticed many changes. I quickly learned that moving from the University Center to the Wabash building required an open mind, and a willingness to adjust to a greener lifestyle. Life at the UC was quite comfortable; after all I had lived there for three years.

High powered showers, bright lights, and smooth floors were everyday luxuries that I found quite enjoyable. If I had to choose my favorite UC feature, it would have been the powerful shower head that nearly knocked me down every time I turned it on and all of my shampoo and conditioner quickly rinsed out my hair without hesitation. I must admit that the low pressure shower head in the Wabash Building kind of turned me off my first couple weeks living here. Sadly, I was ignorant to the massive amount of water I was using at the UC, and never thought about how much water I could be saving.

After educating myself by comparing the water features of the University Center to my current living space in the Wabash Building, I was shocked to find this difference. The LEED Gold Wabash building saves more than 20% potable water than Chicago code through the use of aerators, low-flow pumping and plumbing fixtures. What simpler way to save water than by changing the pressure of a shower head? You never know how much water you could be saving.

While living at the University Center I wasted at least 140,529 gallon of water per year, which is equivalent to 20,250 two liter size bottles of soda. Since moving to the Wabash Building two months ago I have already saved 145,783 gallons of water.

My entire outlook on my shower is now changed. I now understand the green initiative of the Wabash building and feel proud of myself for being a part of this initiative. So far this summer I have learned to not only have an open mind about my current living space, but also research the features of it.

Submitted by Taylin Humphrey, Roosevelt Student and budding Sustainability blogger

 

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

